Microblogging, laziness and peace

August 8, 2008

Stii Pm’ed me a good article on ReadWriteWeb, a fairly long post about the shift from blogging to microblogging and some such. Not a bad read a lot of what they say is true, and could be interpreted as the end of blogging etc.

Stii then wrote on his that perhaps we (bloggers) are getting lazy and that perhaps Twitter is working for us cause we have short attention spans.

Here’s my 2 cents.

Yes, traffic is moving from blogs to twitter. Thank god for that. Now, let me tell you why I am relieved before you people have a heart attack.

Reason 1: Most blogs have become rubbish. We are all guilty of this, but if I’m honest then when I come to your blog or open your feed then don’t want to know what you had for dinner, or how your mug of coffee kicks ar*e, or how you have a toothache. I certainly don’t want to see every bloody braindump you have throughout the day or have to click on 17 “this is so cool” links. Seriously.

Reason 2: Tweets can and should be short. I can take 140 chars no more.

Reason 3: Blogs are forever, put stuff there you want to perserve, the really important stuff.

Reason 4: Twitter is transient, if it gets to noisy I just ignore it, I don’t really care. I hope I am not missing anything important, rather put that on your blog!

I hope what this means is that the noise will shift away from the blogs and onto the micro-b’s (*cute shortening of microblogs) and that the blogosphere will reclaim some of the shining beauty it once had, that place where I did not want to miss a single post on YOUR feed.

Leave a Reply

